"Energetic Time Domain Astrophysics"

The INTEGRAL Symposium 2017 will be hosted by the Institute for Space Astrophysics and Planetology (IAPS) of the National Institute for Astrophysics (INAF).
The Symposium will be held in Venice (Italy) from 15 to 20 October 2017
in Centro Culturale Don Oriore Artigianelli.

The goal of this Symposium is to present and discuss the main results obtained during last decade in the field of high-energy astrophysics, with an emphasis on Time Domain Astrophysics.

The Symposium will be held in honour of Neil Gehrels, INTEGRAL Mission Scientist.

During the Symposium a young scientist (younger than thirty-five years old as of July 31, 2017) will be awarded the “Mikhail Revnivtsev Prize”, a distinction established in honour of the renowned high-energy astrophysicist.

The focus of this meeting will be the highly energetic astrophysical phenomena observed by INTEGRAL, particularly with respect to discussing the advanced modelling and observational constraints that occur at all wavelengths, and discussing other cosmic messengers. The SOC aims to provide a broad perspective on INTEGRAL's findings, and place these results in the context of other space-based missions, such as Herschel, Plank, XMM-Newton, Chandra, NuStar, Astrosat, MAXI, Swift, Fermi, AGILE etc., as well as ground-based observatories such as Ligo/Virgo, Icecube, LOFAR, HESS, Veritas, MAGIC, CTA, etc..
There will be dedicated presentations on correlated multi-wavelength studies, as well as recent observations of High Energy Neutrinos, Fast Radio Bursts and Gravitational Waves

The Symposium will provide a comprehensive summary on recent developments in the following scientific topics:
       X-ray binaries: black holes, neutron stars, and white dwarfs
       Isolated neutron stars (gamma-ray pulsars, magnetars)
       Nucleosynthesis (SNe, Novae, SNRs, ISM) and γ-ray lines, including 511 keV
       Massive black holes in AGNs (blazars, and the nucleus of the Milky Way)
       Sky surveys, source populations and new class of unidentified sources
       Gamma-Ray Bursts
       New Astronomies counterpart: GW, HEN, FRB.
       Future instruments and missions

Five main sessions will focus on (confirmed Invited speakers, preliminary title):

1. New Astronomies and strategies: GW, HEH, FRB, GRB

M. Burgay:                 Fast Radio Bursts
A. Kouchner:             High Energy Neutrinos

E. Parizot:                 Ultra-High Energy Cosmic Rays
Fulvio Ricci:               LIGO/VIRGO Perspectives
V. Savchenko:           Searches for electromagnetic counterparts of mutli-messenger
                                  transients with INTEGRAL

2. Outbursting sources: BHC, NS, AGN/Blazars

P. Esposito:                Isolated Outbursting NS; Magnetars 
V. Grinberg:                Spectro-timing studies reveal the central engine
Jian Li:                        Gamma ray binaries
A. Lutovinov:               HMXB: NS isolated and binaries, including SFXT
M. Middleton:              Persistent and transient BHs: what drives their state change?
T. Muñoz-Darias:        What … the brightest transient of the last 20 years: V404 Cyg
A. Patruno:                  LMXRB   

E. Pian:                       Bursting Blazars
Claudio Ricci:              AGN

3. Gamma-Ray Spectroscopy

A. Chieffi:                     Massive stars
T. Siegert:                    Positron annihilation
V. Tatischeff:               Nuclear lines

4. Accretion and Ejection: Galactic and Extragalactic

M. Begelman:               Accretion/ejection topic
A. Fabian:                    AGN cut-off view, key future science
C. Feruglio:                  Outflows in AGN
G. Israel:                      ULX
J. Malzac:                    Galactic - Extragalactic connection

5. Surveys and population studies       

A.J. Bird:                      The Magellanic Cloud with different instrument
A.  Bodaghee:              NuSTAR CHANDRA  regions of the G.P.
M. Gilfanov:                  Populations studies
R. Krivonos:                 The INTEGRAL Plane science
Mark Leising:                Future Gamma-Ray Studies of SN Ia
R. Mushoztky:              The BASS survey
Liu Yuan:                      New HXMT Galactic results

Scientific Organizing Committee

Pietro Ubertini (Co-Chair),  INAF-IAPS, Rome (I)
Peter von Ballmoos (Co-Chair)
,  IRAP, Toulouse (F)
Angela BazzanoINAF-IAPS, Rome (I)
Volker Beckmann,  APC/Univ. of Paris, Paris (F)
Soren Brandt
,  DTU Space, Copenhagen(DK)
Roland Diehl
,  MPE, Garching (D)
Matthias Ehle,  ESA ESAC, Madrid (E)
Carlo FerrignoISDC, Versoix (CH)
Diego Gotz,  AIM-CEA/DRF/Irfu, Saclay (F)
Sergei Grebenev
,  IKI, Moscow (RF)
Dieter Hartmann, Clemson Univ. (USA)
Wim Hermsen
,  SRON, Utrecht (NL)
Peter Kretschmar,  ESA ESAC, Madrid (E)
Erik Kuulkers,  ESA ESTEC, Noordwijk (NL)
Philippe Laurent
,  APC/Unive. of Paris, Paris (F)
Alexander LutovinovIKI, Moscow (RF)
Angela MaliziaINAF/IASF, Bologna (I)
Miguel Mas-HesseINTA, Madrid (E)
Francesca Panessa,  INAF-IAPS, Roma (I)
Jean-Pierre Roques,  IRAP, Toulouse (F)
Norbert Schartel,  ESA ESAC, Madrid (E)
Rashid Sunyaev,   IKI Moscow (RF), MPA Garching (D)
Diego F. TorresICREA/IEEC-CSIC, Barcelona (ES)
Ed van den Heuvel,  University of Amsterdam (NL)

Local Organizing Committee
Silvia Zampieri INAF-IAPS


(Last updated: October 13, 2017)