The International Astronomical Union (IAU) was founded in 1919. Its mission is to promote and safeguard the science of astronomy in all its aspects through international cooperation. Individual members are more than 10000 professional astronomers, coming from 96 countries worldwide.

The scientific and educational activities of the IAU are organized by its 9 Scientific Divisions, its 35 specialized Commissions and its 20 Working and Program Groups, covering the full spectrum of astronomy.

IAU collaborates with various scientific organizations all over the world and among them, INAF-IAPS.

Pietro Ubertini, INAF-IAPS, is also President of Division B (Facilities, Technologies and Data Science): follow this link to know more